2010 Forest Products Society Awards

It is a pleasure to announce the winners of the 2010 Forest Products Society Awards. The awards were presented at the FPS International Convention during the Official Luncheon.

Stephen L. Quarles, Wood Performance & Durability Advisor, University of California-Berkeley, was presented with the prestigious Fred W. Gottschalk Memorial Award for his exceptional service to the Society. The award was presented by Barry Goodell, Chair of the 2010 Gottschalk Award Judging Committee.

David W. Green and James W. Evans were presented with the L.J. Markwardt Wood Engineering Award for their pair of papers entitled "Effect of cyclic long-term temperature exposure on the bending strength of lumber" and "The immediate effect of temperature on the modulus of elasticity of green and dry lumber" published in Wood & Fiber Science. The L.J. Markwardt Wood Engineering Award encourages research and promotes knowledge of wood in the engineering field. The award was presented by Awards Committee Chair, Tom McLain.

Honoring a lifetime of achievement in wood engineering, the Wood Engineering Achievement Award was presented to Dave W. Green, Research Engineer Emeritus, USDA Forest Service, by John “Buddy” Showalter, Director-Technical Media of the American Wood Council, co-sponsor of the award. The Wood Engineering Achievement Award recognizes excellence in the discipline of wood engineering.

The Wood Award recognizes outstanding research in the field of wood and wood products conducted by graduate students. Arijit Sinha of Oregon State University was presented with the first place award for the paper “Thermal degradation of bending strength of plywood and oriented strand board: A kinetics approach.” Second place was awarded to Sudip Chowdhury, Virginia Tech, for the paper “Application of 2H NMR to probe in-situ organization of lignocelluloses.” The awards were presented by Ramsay Smith, Arch Wood Protection Inc., sponsor of the Wood Award.

Congratulations to all of these award winners!

Be watching for the 2011 nomination and submission information in late 2010.

Section Performance Award Winners

With hard work and commitment, the members of the Society’s Sections and Chapters arrange technical meetings, industry tours, and educational programs as well as establish scholarship funds, produce newsletters, and promote membership. After completing the Section and Chapter Performance Report, the following Sections were recognized for their accomplishments this past year.

Midwest Section – Outstanding
Rocky Mountain Section – Outstanding
Upper Mississippi Section – Outstanding

Student Chapter Performance Award Winners

Encouraging membership in the academic setting, the Society’s Student Chapters provide a forum for hosting speakers from research and industry, conducting workshops, and furthering career preparation activities. After completing the Student Chapter Performance Report, the following Student Chapters were recognized for their accomplishments this past year.

Colorado State University - Outstanding
Mississippi State University - Outstanding
Oregon State University - Outstanding
Purdue University - Excellent

Winners of 2010 Student Poster Competition

This year’s International Convention hosted the first Student Poster Competition sponsored by all 14 Sections/Chapters. Fourteen students participated in the competition. Winners of the competition received cash awards and all participants left with an item of FPS logo apparel.

The First Place award of $500 was given to Sandeep Sudhakaran Nair, University of Tennessee, for the poster, "Influence of fiber/matrix nano-interphase on the mechanical properties of natural fiber reinforced polymer composites."

Scott Hamel, University of Wisconsin-Madison, took home the Second Place award of $250 for his poster "Long-term creep of wood plastic composites subjected to bending."

Both Runners-up took home $125. They were Shan Gao, Northeast Forestry University, China, "Effect of seasonal temperature changes on acoustic evaluation of trees and logs," and Julius B. Adewopo, University of Arkansas-Monticello, "Effect of heat-treatment on the mechanical properties of selected wood species."

Congratulations to these outstanding students, and thank you to all students who participated. We look forward to seeing more great posters next year at the Forest Products Society 65th International Convention in Portland, Oregon.